Feel like you’re saying “no” a lot?

wVlfnlTbRtK8eGvbnBZI_VolkanOlmez_005

Sometimes I need some more things to say to my kids other than, “no.” Or, “don’t do that.” And where I need to say those things sometimes, especially if my daughter is squeezing the cheeks of my newborn son, here are some other things I want to be saying to my kids in the meantime.

Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones. Proverbs 16:24

They are in Danish and English:

You are loved. Du er elsket.

You make me smile. Du får mig til at smile.

I think about you when we’re apart. Jeg tænker på dig når vi ikke er sammen.

My world is better with you in it. Min verden er bedre med dig i den.

I will do my best to keep you safe. Jeg vil gøre alt hvad jeg kan for at passe på dig.

I have faith in you. Jeg tror på dig.

You are creative. Du er kreativ.

You are capable. Du kan godt.

You are valuable. Du er værdifuld.

You are strong. Du er stærk.

You make a difference. Du gør en forskel.

Your words are powerful. Dine ord er stærke.

Your actions are powerful. Dine handlinger er stærke.

You can choose to be happy. Du kan vælge at være glad.

You are a good friend. Du er en god ven.

You are kind. Du er venlig.

You don’t have to like what someone is saying in order to treat them with respect. Du behøver ikke at kunne lide hvad nogen siger for at behandle dem med respect.

Others bad behavior isn’t an excuse for your own. Andres dårlige opførsel er ikke en undskyldning for din egen.

You are imperfect and so am I. Du er ikke perfekt og det er jeg heller ikke.

You can learn from your mistakes. Du kan lære af dine fejl.

You can ask for help. Du kan bede om hjælp.

You are learning. Du lærer.

You are growing. Du vokser.

Growing is hard work. At vokse er hårdt arbejde.

You are interesting. Du er interessant.

You are beautiful. Du er smuk.

Your body is your own. Din krop er din egen.

You are important. Du er vigtig

I see you working and learning every day. Jeg ser dig arbejde hårdt og lære hver dag.

You’ve made me think of things in a completely new way. Du får mig til at tænke over ting på en helt ny måde.

Thanks for helping me. Tak fordi du hjælper mig.

Your body is your own. Din krop er din egen.

I see you working and learning every day. Jeg ser dig arbejde hårdt og lære hver dag.

Thank you for contributing to our family. Tak fordi du bidrager til vores familie

I enjoy your company. Jeg nyder dit selskab.

It’s fun to do things with you. Det er sjovt at gøre ting sammen med dig

I’m glad you’re here. Jeg er glad for at du er her.

I’m happy to talk with you. Jeg er glad for at snakke med dig.

I’m listening. Jeg lytter.

I’m proud of you. Jeg er stolt af dig.

I’m grateful you’re in my life. Jeg er taknemmelig for at du er i mit liv.

Leave a Reply

