A Simple New Year’s Resolution

IMG_2359.JrPGI continue to look for ways to simplify my life. With a new year approaching, I would normally write down a list of goals for the coming year (something like this.) The goals would be numbered according to priority and sub-categorized by how I would accomplish them practically in my everyday life. I would further put this on a book mark and look at it daily.

Psychotic? Almost.

How about one goal this year? My goal this year is coming from 1 Corinthians 10:31:

So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

Thinking of 2015, I could easily go on “autopilot” and decide to just get through the year. But I really want the things that I do, from the greatest to the smallest, to glorify God. My hope is to ask myself one question as I go through my day: “What would it look like to glorify God as I __________?” Fill in the blank.

So instead of a bookmark, I have written that question at the top of my planner. My hope is to envision each day with this question in mind and take it to God in prayer. We’ll see where that leads me.

Leave a Reply

