The good ol’ days?

photo_30427_20140127

My relationship with God can have it’s ups and downs. I know that’s true for all of us. What keeps you inspired and continuing to grow close to God? I don’t want to look back at my life with God, always seeing the “good ol’ days” as behind me.

How depressing!

When I read the scriptures, it’s not a guarantee that we will always have this exciting and intimate life with God. I see some examples of people who stray away and forget about all God has done (hello, Israelites?!) I used to get so frustrated reading the old testament because God would perform this HUGE miracle to provide a way for his people and in the very next chapter, they are worshipping something else.

But I can do the. same. thing. UGH.

Can we do anything about this? I think so. I think our attitude makes all the difference. Here are a few things I have done recently to keep my relationship with God exciting.

1. Remember back to the “good ol’ days” and evaluate why it made you feel close to God. This can be difficult because we’re probably not in the same life circumstance anymore. But I can recognize the amount of energy and heart I put into seeking God and it gives me a vision for what I can do today. I’m an introvert that likes to be around people. One of my favorite things to do is go to a café with my bible and a book that I’m reading. I get my favorite drink, plug in my headphones and journal anything that inspires me and prayers that come to mind. I also like to meditate on all the ways God has worked in my life. It helps me slow down and really take it all in. I know some would HATE what helps me feel close to God. So what helps you? God tells us many times to remember…

Look to the Lord and his strength; see his face always. Remember the wonders he has done, his miracles, and the judgments he pronounced. 1 Chronicles 16:11-12

I can’t go to a café as often as I used to. But I schedule it in (with the help of my husband) and make a point to do the things that help me feel close to God.

Feeling overwhelmed with trying to imitate what you “used” to do? What’s one step you could take that would make things a little better?

2. Go back to the basics. How is your time in the bible? How is your prayer life? How are your relationships? Are you helping anybody else to become a Christian? These are all basic things that can turn into a checklist in our Christian life. Let me plead with you not to do that. It’s so backwards to what a relationship with God should be. However, if we aren’t doing these things, this is a good place to start. God is faithful and he will guide you but if you never put yourself in the presence of God, how can you ever feel close to Him? I really love the book, “Celebration of Discipline” because it gives a great perspective on how to look at prayer, reading, praying, ect.

God has given us the Disciplines of the spiritual life as a means of receiving His grace. The disciplines allow us to place ourselves before God so that He can transform us. The spiritual disciplines are a way of sowing to the spirit. The disciplines are God’s way of getting us into the ground; they put us where He can work within us and transform us. By themselves the spiritual disciplines can do nothing; they can only get us to the place where something can be done.

3. Invest in your times with God. Is there a book you have wanted to read but haven’t taken the time to read it? Is there someone around you that seems to love their life with God? What are they reading/doing to stay inspired? Any particular ministers you like to listen to? Can you download some sermons from them? Can you read the bible in a different translation? A different language, even?

These are just questions to spark ideas of how to spice up your time with God. God. Recently I have been reading the bible without chapter or verse numbers. I go super slow and read it like a book. When I have even the slightest question, I stop and research the answer. It has really built my faith! I also just started reading the bible in Danish. It’s more to develop my language but it does help me to slow down and really read the bible. There are different ways to invest but it takes all our heart.

Jesus replied, ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind’. Matthew 22:37

Still stuck on ideas? Check out this article about how to stay a learner.

4. God won’t leave you where you are. He is more interested in finding ways to be close to us than we will ever know. I felt super close to God when I first started seeking Him. So now that I’ve been a Christian for 10 years, he’s just not close anymore? I don’t think so. He craves to be close to us. Do we see it?

…being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.
Philippians 1:6

I’m sure there are other ways and I would love to hear if you have any thoughts on the subject. These are the first things that come to mind and what I have done recently to grow closer to God. I will also talk in a later post about how I’ve gone about simply enjoying God.

For my fellow Blogging 101 classmates:
Salad Days

One thought on “The good ol’ days?

Leave a Reply

