Ever feel limited?

DSCN0689
Does your ambition to accomplish goals or spiritual growth outweigh your strength? Does your to-do list outnumber the amount of hours in the day?

Join the club.

I wish I could be superwoman and accomplish everything I set my eyes on but that’s not possible. I have felt that even more recently. I am pregnant with some complications. However, I am to take each day as it comes and if I need to rest, then I should.

At lease, that’s what the doctor says.

The problem is, the days I should be resting always seem to be days that seem impossible to do so. And it’s in those moments that I can get completely overwhelmed. I have all these hopes for the next month before my son is born, many things I may need to delegate but have a hard time doing so.

Perfect.

When I feel limited, I try to focus on “doing what I can”. There is a scripture I would like to look at:

Jesus Anointed at Bethany

Mark 14 Now the Passover and the Festival of Unleavened Bread were only two days away, and the chief priests and the teachers of the law were scheming to arrest Jesus secretly and kill him. “But not during the festival,” they said, “or the people may riot.”

While he was in Bethany, reclining at the table in the home of Simon the Leper, a woman came with an alabaster jar of very expensive perfume, made of pure nard. She broke the jar and poured the perfume on his head.

Some of those present were saying indignantly to one another, “Why this waste of perfume? It could have been sold for more than a year’s wages[a] and the money given to the poor.” And they rebuked her harshly.

“Leave her alone,” said Jesus. “Why are you bothering her? She has done a beautiful thing to me. The poor you will always have with you,[b] and you can help them any time you want. But you will not always have me. She did what she could. She poured perfume on my body beforehand to prepare for my burial. Truly I tell you, wherever the gospel is preached throughout the world, what she has done will also be told, in memory of her.”

Why was she anointing Jesus? She probably saw him as a friend, she loved him, she had been impacted and changed by him. You don’t just show intimate acts of love to anybody. But I imagine she felt a connection to Jesus that she wanted to take this last chance to do something special for him. She was motivated out of love. (Acts 4:13 When they saw the courage of Peter and John and realized that they were unschooled, ordinary men, they were astonished and they took note that these men had been with Jesus.)

  • Are you spending time with Jesus? When we spend time with him, we leave changed.

Here are a couple of practical things we can learn from this scripture that will help us respond to our love we have for Jesus.

  1. She focused on what she could do… not what she couldn’t.

This may take some prioritization in your life. I know for me, my to-do list is never-ending. But each week I sit down and look at what is the most important things I could be doing with my week. The rest can wait. My attitude about this will dictate a lot about how I feel when I let go of the things that are less important. It is a spiritual discipline to focus on the positive, and such a beneficial one!

Philippians 4:4-9

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. Whatever you have learned or received or heard from me, or seen in me—put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you.

It’s with a Philippians 4 attitude that we look at the areas we would like to take a step of faith in and accomplish. And when the temptation comes to think of all the reasons you can’t do something, ignore it!! Focus on what you can do.

  1. She gave ALL of what she could do.

She broke the alabaster jar and poured it on Jesus’ head. Sometimes when we are inspired by the word, we can have great dreams for God. But the temptation can be to hold back part of our dream once we realize what it will take. If I was to anoint Jesus with my own personal bottle of perfume, I would have been tempted to open it and pour some on Jesus and keep the rest for myself. But she broke the jar with no hopes of saving any of the perfume.

  • When we think of what we can do, do we give our best?

2 Chronicles 16:9

For the eyes of the Lord range throughout the earth to strengthen those whose hearts are fully committed to him.

God is looking to strengthen us, but he looks for those who are fully committed. The women who breaks the alabaster jar.

Steps in faith:

A way to start moving in the right direction is to take one step on faith. Keep your end goal in mind but don’t get wrapped up in all the “steps” you will need to take. Focus on the next step. Once that is accomplished, focus on the very next step. So on and so forth.

Study some scriptures in the area you would like to take a step in and have them on your heart throughout the day.

Share with someone the next step you are taking and celebrate when it is accomplished!

 

 

Leave a Reply

