Gearing up for the new baby… spiritually.

photo (7)I am currently 35 weeks pregnant… I think! With the second one, I’ll admit, I’ve lost track of every detail. Many things have gone better with this pregnancy. Of course I will never know exactly why but part of me thinks my focus with this pregnancy has been to push myself to grow spiritually and focus on God. And that, I feel, has made all the difference in the world. As I approach the day of our baby boy, I am aware of the possible trials ahead.  I love the following scripture when I think of hard times to come:

Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls, yet I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior. The Sovereign Lord is my strength; he makes my feet like the feet of a deer, he enables me to tread on the heights. Habakkuk 3:17-19

I almost feel that I could write my own version of this scripture: Though I have sleepless nights and breastfeeding brain, though I can’t think about anything else other than my next possible nap or opportunity to eat or have a shower in peace, yet I will rejoice in the Lord. The Lord is my strength and the only way I can get through this blur of a day!

My goal for 2014 was to read the entire bible, focusing on God’s character. This has been a very beneficial thing for me to focus on because it has helped me to take the focus off of myself and put it on God. However, a few months ago, I came across an article by John Piper giving helpful tips for bible study. I was inspired! So I admit, I hurried through my reading plan and finished a few months ahead of schedule so I could start my newest endeavor.

One of the tips was to read the bible without the use of chapter titles or numbers. Chapter titles, chapters and verses were introduced in the 15th century, so it a can be a good idea to read the bible without these divisions to avoid the text being obscured. I found a used copy of Community Bible Experience on Amazon which has these taken out and the formatting in a single column like a regular novel. I have already enjoyed my times in the word and look forward to reading everyday. And the cool thing was my book arrived the day after I had finished my reading plan. Their website offers a 40 day reading plan but I’m not going to rush. I really want to take it at a pace that I can, especially with the arrival of our son. Motherhood brings so many joys and challenges that can bring spiritual distraction, but I’m excited that my journey with God is at a greater focus than ever before.

Leave a Reply

