Me-focus to God-focus

20140403-232232.jpg

As 2014 starts to fly by, I usually like to revisit my goals and aspirations. This is common for many but I would like to share what my goals are. More for my own sake so as to remind myself where I’m going in 2014.

I have moved away from “do” oriented goals to “be” oriented goals. I have found that if I’m the person I want to be, it creates the opportunities I want to do as a by-product.

I recently read the book, “It’s not about me” by Max Lucado and I can recommend it. One paragraph that caught my attention was:

“We move from me-focus to God-focus by pondering him. Witnessing him. Following the counsel of the apostle Paul: ‘Beholding as in a glass the glory of the Lord, [we] are changed into the same image from glory to glory, even as by the Spirit of the Lord.'” 2nd Cor 3:18

I set off on this new year with a plan to read the entire bible with this focus… really pondering God and witnessing him. In Exodus 15:11-13 it says:

Who among the gods is like you, Lord? Who is like you— majestic in holiness, awesome in glory, working wonders? “You stretch out your right hand, and the earth swallows your enemies. In your unfailing love you will lead the people you have redeemed. In your strength you will guide them to your holy dwelling.

I don’t know about you, but I want to be guided to his holy dwelling. So instead of looking to myself to get there, I want to look to God.

Jesus replied, “The hour has come for the Son of Man to be glorified. Very truly I tell you, unless a kernel of wheat falls to the ground and dies, it remains only a single seed. But if it dies, it produces many seeds. Anyone who loves their life will lose it, while anyone who hates their life in this world will keep it for eternal life. Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me. “Now my soul is troubled, and what shall I say? ‘Father, save me from this hour’? No, it was for this very reason I came to this hour. Father, glorify your name!” Then a voice came from heaven, “I have glorified it, and will glorify it again.” The crowd that was there and heard it said it had thundered; others said an angel had spoken to him. Jesus said, “This voice was for your benefit, not mine. Now is the time for judgment on this world; now the prince of this world will be driven out. And I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to myself.” He said this to show the kind of death he was going to die. John 12:23-33

I am completely humbled by Jesus and his example to be God-focused and not me-focused. He did not look forward with great pleasure to what laid ahead of him. He took ultimate pleasure in staying focused on God and glorifying His name. And when God’s glory is shown, we draw closer to Him and, prayerfully, lead to an eternity in Heaven. With Him.

