Difficult to pray?

IMG_1113
Great quiet time, great friend, great tea!

I find it difficult to pray sometimes for a number of reasons. Sometimes it’s because of sheer laziness or distraction. And other times I can come to God in prayer and feel completely overwhelmed with all the things I need to pray for, it feels more of a burden than a joy.

It seems ironic.

The one thing that should take the weight off of my shoulders can feel like the very thing that adds more weight to my load. I have many different strategies with prayer to help. For example, going for prayer walks, journaling my prayers, having prayer lists for certain days so I don’t pray for all things everyday, etc, etc. All of these things have been helpful. But recently I read a scripture and it helped me to have a different attitude when it comes to prayer. When I’m having a difficult time praying, I think about these things and it helps me to have peace with whatever I’m facing. In Philippians 4:6-7 it says:

Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

I read a quote and thought it was so great. M.R. Vincent said, “peace is the fruit of believing prayer.” Here are some natural conclusions I’ve made because of this scripture:

1. If Paul says we can take everything to God, He must have the power to deal with anything that we bring to Him.

2. God must also love us in order for the above scripture to be true. Who else wants to hear every thing that’s on your heart… good, bad or super ugly?

3. God must be pretty smart in order to handle everything we bring to Him. He knows what’s best and I can be okay with not understanding everything.

Recently, if I’ve had a hard time getting started in prayer, I remind myself that God loves me, He is crazy powerful to handle anything AND He is wicked smart to know what’s best. And if all else fails, I spend time just to be grateful and thank Him for everything that He has done and will continue to do. Because let’s face it, an ungrateful heart is ugly and only leads to bitterness. This isn’t a new revelation but a great reminder and one that has helped me this week.

The pictures are from Tante T. So far, one of my favorite places for tea. They even had Matcha tea, which is hard to find in Copenhagen! Ciao, Ciao all!

 

IMG_1111

IMG_1110

 

One thought on “Difficult to pray?

Leave a Reply

