For Migraine Sufferers

Enjoying a day in Germany with the fam...
Enjoying a day in Germany with the fam…

Wow. It’s been a minute but I’m still alive… if you were wondering 😉

I have had my fair share of migraines and have managed to keep them at bay (mostly) and was asked to share what has helped me.

In 2007 I went into the ministry as a campus intern at the University of Washington. I started getting headaches (for about two weeks at a time) and migraines twice a month. I was also dizzy most of the day. I went to the doctor and had multiple tests done but they couldn’t figure out what was wrong. After moving up to Bellingham, Washington, I had to get a new doctor. She worked closely with a Neurosurgeon and wanted to try a natural approach to find the triggers to my migraines. After trying many different (and expensive) medications, I was desperate to try anything!

She basically explained that migraines are triggered from the hypothalamus part of your brain and the below areas stimulate it. If you can get a natural rhythm going in your body, you can kiss migraines bye-bye. (Or at lease I have!)

She called it the C.A.S.E of alcohol diet. She put me on this diet for three month. HAHAHA… it’s true but let me explain.

C- Caffeine: Either you drink the same amount of caffeine at the same time everyday or no caffeine at all.

A- Aerobic exercise: Get at lease 30 minutes of exercise everyday, even if it’s just a walk.

S- Sleep: Wake up and go to bed at the same time everyday (with a half-hour buffer).

E- Eating: Eat more often. Around 5-6 smaller meals so you don’t get extremely hungry.

Alcohol: No alcohol.

Everyday I would write down how I did. If I messed something up, I would note it on my calendar. After about two months into the “diet”, I went to a campus retreat and of course, didn’t get much sleep. BAM! Migraine!

So I found my trigger and since then, I rarely get migraines. I still use the routine but if I do have a glass of wine, I make sure that I am staying on course with the other factors. Now I can read my body better and avoid most headaches and migraines which has given me my life back. Migraines are so debilitating and SO extremely miserable.

I hope this is helpful to you and would love to hear if you have found things that helped you. I maybe get them once a year now which I am SO grateful for!

Leave a Reply

