Grow in Faith

20130612-110725.jpg

My fifth and last focus is to always be growing in my faith. Funny how things turn out because even though it was my “last” focus on the list, this has definitely been what I’ve seen the most in the last few years.

There have been two things that have almost shipwrecked my faith but working through them has helped my faith a ton.

I thought being a Christian and moving to an agnostic/atheistic country would be hard but that wasn’t the case. In the beginning I did have to question why I believed what I believe. Is it just because I’m American that I believe in God? Or because this is what I was taught? I had to ask myself some tough questions and find the logical answers but it helped to see that yes, God is real and I believe in this.

But that wasn’t a hard battle once I started researching. The hardest battles for me to fight these last couple of years has been fear and comfortability.

I will talk about those battles in later posts but a scripture that has helped me to concentrate on growing in my faith is in Philippians 1:6:

I am sure of this, that He who started a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus. (Philippians 1:6 HCSB)

I’m a wretch! But I’m no near what I used to be and I can’t imagine God bringing me all this way, to stop right now.

Ultimately though, faith comes from hearing the word (Romans 10:17). If I want to grow in faith I need to be in my bible. Plain and simple. Remember what God has already done and read… The rest will come.

2 thoughts on “Grow in Faith

  1. Thank you, Gina, for this! The scripture you quoted is so comforting. Another one that points out God’s role in our sanctification and trying to be a bit more than a total wretch is Psalm 138:8

    “The Lord will fulfill his purpose for me;
    your steadfast love, O Lord, endures forever.
    Do not forsake the work of your hands.” (ESV)

    I’ve loved this passage for years, it assures me of God’s power and good intentions, he will not leave the work of his hands uncompleted, he will finish what he started in me. I just need to try and cooperate 🙂

Leave a Reply

