The State of the World

“Some unbelievers demand that if God exists, he would remove all pain and suffering from the world. Yet most suffering is inflicted by people (including wars, drunk driving, stealing, lying, and the like) so to root out all suffering, God would have to destroy all evil in the world.”

God must really love people to put up with us. (To put up with me, really!)

However, when I look at the people around me, I can have a different view. What if I looked at other people the way I look at my daughter. Or even better yet: what if I looked at people the way God does? My perspective changes.

One of my “hobbies” is keeping up with the news.

I’m a news junky.

I admit it.

Being aware of what’s going on in the world helps me to keep doing good because there are a lot of bad things happening out there. I can’t help but hope that the little contribution I make will matter.

I want to contribute something positive in this world. But it’s not about me.

I think I need to hear that again.

It’s not about me. It’s not about what I can do.

Its about God and what He can do. God desperately loves us and wants a relationship with us.

My fourth focus (see previous posts about this subject) is to stay in touch with the state of the world. It’s a hurting world but God doesn’t want it to remain that way.

Even in the greatest of countries, there are hurting people. I was at the grocery store the other day and in one of the Danish magazines was a picture of a man who says he drinks 40 beers a day. My guess is he is hurting.
20130612-000001.jpg
In 2 Corinthians 5:16-20 it says:

From now on, then, we do not know anyone in a purely human way. Even if we have known Christ in a purely human way, yet now we no longer know⌊Him in this way⌋. Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, ⌊he is⌋ a new creation; old things have passed away, and look, new things have come. Everything is from God, who reconciled us to Himself through Christ and gave us the ministry of reconciliation: That is, in Christ, God was reconciling the world to Himself, not counting their trespasses against them, and He has committed the message of reconciliation to us. Therefore, we are ambassadors for Christ, certain that God is appealing through us. We plead on Christ’s behalf, “Be reconciled to God.” (2 Corinthians 5:16-20 HCSB)

One of my favorite sermons about how much God loves us and our role as Christians in response to that is by Shawn Wooten. Check it out! Embrace Your Calling

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

