Foreigners

But our citizenship is in heaven, from which we also eagerly wait for a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ. He will transform the body of our humble condition into the likeness of His glorious body, by the power that enables Him to subject everything to Himself. (Philippians 3:20, 21 HCSB)

If our citizenship is in heaven, then we are foreigners in this world. Have you ever been a foreigner? I think all of us have experienced, at the very minimum, a place where we didn’t belong.

My permanent residence is currently Copenhagen, Denmark but my citizenship is in the United States. After moving here two and a half years ago, I have become more “Danish” than ever before. I know where the closest H&M store is from my apartment, I know to wait for passengers to leave the train before I get on and I also know how to bicycle in all kinds of weather (although I choose not to). It has been a complete adjustment in living here! I eat open-faced sandwiches, speak some Danish and have an immensely higher appreciation for a cozy atmosphere.

However, my mediteranian features and booming American accent will always give me away. No matter how hard I try, I will never be Danish!

(Gasp!)

There is no amount of black tights I could wear, chocolate-covered marcipan I could eat or Eldiflower juice I could drink that would ever allow me to come close. And believe me, I’ve tried with the first two!

No matter how hard we try to make this world our home, it will never be. We don’t fit here. We can come awfully close to feeling comfortable and cozy, but a part of us will always feel something isn’t as it could be.

And that’s ok.

Our citizenship is in heaven.

20130523-142222.jpg

Tallinn, Estonia

Leave a Reply

