Trapped in Denmark

Copenhagen 2012 021

By fear or faith?

Over the past couple of years, I have struggled with “God’s will” for my life. Have you ever had to make a life changing decision and not know what to do?

Of course you have.

Have you ever made the decision and then wonder if it’s still the right decision?

I’m glad I’m not the only one.

When deciding whether to stay in Denmark or not, I have had a lot of thoughts and it’s hard to decipher what’s real and what’s totally irrational.

It basically boiled down to the difference between fear and faith. Most of the reasons to go home were fear.

Once I came to that realization, the choice was up to me. Am I going to live out of fear or out of faith?

I chose faith.

But I can still struggle with fear and recently a very wise (and very young) girl helped me with a few simple words. The sad thing is I’m sure MANY people have said the same thing but this time I was able to hear it. She said, “God is pleased with faith.” At first, I have to admit, I was a little surprised to hear such great words come out of her mouth. Not that I doubted her spirituality but it was refreshing to hear someone so young talk in such a simple yet wise way.

Of course she got it from the bible 😉 because in Hebrews 11:6 it says,

And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

So am I trapped in Denmark? No. You can’t be trapped when it’s a decision you’ve made. So, it might as well be a decision out of faith.

 

P.S. I have to admit it’s a special place to be “trapped” in, mostly because of the people I’ve met and the “family” I now have.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

