A Vision of Heaven

20130504-202240.jpg

A few years ago a friend of mine put all the scriptures about heaven together to form a story. It’s a beautiful image that I need to think about more often! The picture above is my usual place I sit and connect with God.

A Vision of Heaven
By Nate Chatellier

(Following is a composition of different scriptures throughout the bible from various translations, with some of my own added connective words to make the, truthful, but scattered biblical descriptions of Heaven, flow like a single story. Although the words to follow are not “God’s words”, the image created by them came from God’s word and is an image of truth).

I finished my prayer, sat down on a peaceful bench, and closed my eyes. I felt swept away. God began to grant me a vision of Heaven.

(Rev 21:2) I saw the Holy City, the new Jerusalem, coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as great as if it were the most beautiful bride, dressed and ready for the isle. Then a thundering voice from the throne somehow roared like a lion and sang like a harp at the same time; it spoke, “I will now live and walk with man. Although my children have always been with me in Spirit, I will now live with them in this city as if they were my own physical children. I will wipe every tear from your eyes, for there will no longer be death or mourning or crying or pain, for the old order of things is finished! Everything will be made anew!”

(Rev 21:9)Then one of the angels said, “Come, I will give you a tour of your new home–I will give you a tour of Heaven. Then he carried me away in the Spirit to a mountain great and high, and showed me the Holy City. It shone with the glory and eminence of God, and its brilliance was like that of the most precious jewel, completely clear as crystal. The city was a perfect square, 1400 miles long, by 1400 miles wide. It had great, high walls, over 200 feet thick. Within the walls were twelve gates, each guarded by a mighty angel of thunder. 21 The twelve gates were twelve pearls, each gate made of a single pearl. Above each gate was an inscription of one of the names of the twelve tribes of Israel. 13 There were three gates on the east, three on the north, three on the south and three on the west. 14 The walls of the city each had twelve foundations. Each foundation was inscribed with one of the names of the twelve apostles of Christ and each was decorated with every kind of precious stone, shining like a brilliant rainbow. It seemed the twelve apostles, the twelve tribes, and the twelve angels formed the protection of the city–no one could enter without passing through them.

Within the city the great street was made of pure gold, reflecting those who walked on it like perfect glass. REV 21:22 I searched for the temple of worship, but could not find it. Then the angel explained that there was no longer a need to worship in a temple, because God and Jesus were there personally. 23 The city did not need the sun or the moon to shine on it, for the glory of God himself emanated as brilliant rays of light. 24 On no day will the gates ever be shut, for there will be no night. 26 The nations that had walked in the light will bring their glory and honor into it. 27 Nothing impure will ever enter the city, nor will anyone who does what is shameful or deceitful, but only those whose names are written in the Lamb’s book of life.

REV 22:1 Then the angel showed me the river filled with the water of life. It was the most beautiful, crystal clear water that I have ever seen. The river flowed through the middle of the city, directly to the thrones of God and Jesus. On each side of the river stood the tree of life, bearing twelve crops of fruit, yielding a different fruit each month. The very leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations. 3 Never again would there be any curses or ailments of any kind.

(Jn 14) Then the angel showed me the rooms. The angel explained that God & Jesus had prepared a room especially for me, and they had one so for each one of my brothers and sisters as well.

REV 22:6 The angel said to me, “Your body of flesh will disappear, and you will be granted a new, body of perfect Spirit (1Co 15). REV 22:6 The angel said to me, “These words are trustworthy and true. The Lord, the God of the spirits of the prophets, sent his angel to show his servants the things that must soon take place. The people will walk with God. They will see his face, and his name will be on their foreheads. 5 There will be no more night, and they will reign for ever and ever.”

REV 22:7 Then an incredible booming voice from the throne again arose, “Behold, I am coming soon! He who overcomes will inherit all this, and I will be his God and he will be my child. Blessed is he who keeps the words of the prophecy in this book.”

And then I awoke from the vision. My eyes opened, and I gazed around me, watching, as many people wondered here and there, busily going about their daily lives. And I vowed to do all that I could, to never forget this promised inheritance, and to live the rest of my days of this short life on earth, for Him.

PHP 3:17 Join with others in following my example, brothers, and take note of those who live according to the pattern we gave you. 18 For, as I have often told you before and now say again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19 Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is on earthly things. 20 But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ, 21 who, by the power that enables him to bring everything under his control, will transform our lowly bodies so that they will be like his glorious body.
PHP 4:1 Therefore, my brothers, you whom I love and long for, my joy and crown, that is how you should stand firm in the Lord, dear friends!

Leave a Reply

