She provides food for her family

20140318-222435.jpg

Proverbs 31 talks about a wife of noble character. And what a woman she is! I get tired just reading about all that she does.

In verse 15, it says “she gets up while it is still night; she provides food for her family and portions for her female servants.”

A couple of habits I am trying to form that is inspired from this passage is getting up early and planning ahead with meals. It has made a huge difference in my attitude because I get some moments (quietly) with God in the morning and am not stressed out during the day to get food on the table.

This week I made a batch of shredded chicken as a base. On Monday we had BBQ shredded chicken sandwiches, topped with coleslaw. For the coleslaw, I substituted half the mayonnaise with Greek yogurt. We went to our neighborhood baker for the bread (yum!) but since I didn’t want half of the bread, I ate mine as an open-faced sandwich. As a side we had sautéed julienne zucchini (my current fave!).

Since Monday is my day off, I went ahead and made a double batch of mulligatawny soup with some of the shredded chicken. I used a recipe from this blog. Instead of rice, I substituted bulgar.

One if my best friends gave me a great tip for soups. Vinegar. Fish sauce. Sugar. Sounds crazy but when I add about a teaspoon vinegar, tablespoon fish sauce and teaspoon of sugar… It makes the soup come alive. I usually only do this with tomato-based soups but I tried it with the mulligatawny and it was great. My husband asked for it to be made more regularly!

Tuesday I made ham and baked potatoes so now I won’t have to cook until Friday. Which is good because I’m not seeing the time for it!

I’m always in the lookout for meal plans that I can combine ingredients for later use so let me know if you have any tips and I’ll post more in the months ahead.

Ciao :)

Leave a Reply

